People

page last updated: 17 April 2014

Sections on this page:

Faculty and Staff


Srijan Aggarwal
(907) 474-6120
saggarwal@alaska.edu
cem.uaf.edu/cee/people/srijan-aggarwal
Research Areas: environmental biotechnology, water/wastewater, biofilm

Peter Anthony
pmanthony@alaska.edu
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/peter-anthony/

Chris Arp
(907) 474-2783
cdarp@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Hydrology, Ecology, and Geomorphology; Arctic and Alpine Ecosystems
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/chris-arp/

Joel Bailey
(907) 474-6151
jpbailey@alaska.edu

David Barnes
(907) 474-6126
(907) 474-6087 fax
dlbarnes@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Contaminant Fate and Transport

Shane Billings, Lab Manager
(907) 474-7350
sfbillings@alaska.edu

Jessica Cherry
(907) 474-5730
jecherry2@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Arctic Hydroclimatology, Snow Physics, Hydroelectric Power, Science for Society
http://people.iarc.uaf.edu/~jcherry

Ronnie Daanen
(907)474-2775
rdaanen@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Hydrology, Freezing, Permafrost, Patterened Ground and Groundwater Interactions
http://permafrostwatch.org
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/ronald-daanen/

Aaron Dotson, Associated Faculty
(907)786-6041
Research Areas: drinking water, wastewater, industrial water, natural water research addotson@uaa.alaska.edu
https://sites.google.com/site/addotson

Melanie Engram
melanie.engram@alaska.edu
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/melanie-jane-engram/

Robert Gieck
(907) 474-6558
regieck@alaska.edu

Norma Haubenstock
(907) 474-5675
nhaubenstock@alaska.edu

Eran Hood
(907) 796-6244
eran.hood@uas.alaska.edu
Research Areas: Watershed-scale biogeochemistry, Nutrient cycling in aquatic systems, Alpine hydrology, Snow hydrology and snow chemistry
http://www.uas.alaska.edu/arts_sciences/naturalsciences/envs/faculty_staff/index.html

Tim Howe
(907) 474-7826
tshowe@alaska.edu

Ken Irving
(907) 474-6152
ken.irving@alaska.edu

Douglas Kane
(907) 474-7808
dlkane@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Civil Engineering, Hydrology and Hydraulics
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/douglas-kane/

Mikhail Kanevskiy
(907) 474-1905
mkanevskiy@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Permafrost

Anna Liljedahl
akliljedahl@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Permafrost Hydrology
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/anna-liljedahl/

Philip A Loring
Research Areas: Food systems, food security, environmental change, and environmental justice
907-474-7163
ploring@alaska.edu
http://ine.uaf.edu/people/phil-loring/

Nicole Misarti
(907) 474-7813
nmisarti@alaska.edu
ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/nicole-misarti/

Debasmita Misra
(907) 474-5339
Research Areas: Geohydrology and Geoenvironmental Engineering, Ground Water Mechanics
debu.misra@alaska.edu
cem.uaf.edu/mingeo/people/debasmita-misra

Greta Myerchin
(907) 474-7013
gmmyerchin@alaska.edu

Matt Nolan
Research Areas: Geophysics, Glaciology, Hydrology, Remote Sensing, Alternative Energy

Robert Perkins
(907) 474-7694
raperkins@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Human health and chemicals in cold regions, Risk Assessment in Extreme Environments, Risk Management and Analysis
cem.uaf.edu/cee/people/robert-perkins

Lorrie Rea
(907) 474-7572
ldrea@alaska.edu
ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/lorrie-rea/

Silke Schiewer
(907) 474-2620
sschiewer@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Wastewater Treatment, Biotechnology
http://cem.uaf.edu/cee/people/silke-schiewer

Bill Schnabel, Director
(907) 474-7789
(907) 699-2431 mobile
(907) 474-7041 fax
weschnabel@alaska.edu
Research Areas: cold regions water quality, evapotranspiration processes, contaminant fate and transport, and ecosystem engineering
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/bill-schnabel/

Yuri Shur
(907) 474-7067
yshur@alaska.edu
http://cem.uaf.edu/cee/people/yuri-shur
Research Areas: Permafrost and frozen ground engineering

Amy Strohm
a.strohm@gmail.com
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/amy-strohm/

Sveta Stuefer
(907) 474-2714
sveta.stuefer@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Arctic Hydrology
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/sveta-stuefer/

Ken Tape
(907) 474-2775
kdtape@alaska.edu
https://sites.google.com/a/alaska.edu/kentape/

Horacio Toniolo
(907) 474-7977
hatoniolo@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Sediment transport, river morphology
http://cem.uaf.edu/cee/people/horacio-toniolo.aspx

Sarah Trainor
(907) 474-7878
sarah.trainor@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Modeling climate change and its impacts, Energy and sustainability
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/sarah-trainor/

Dragos A. Vas
davas@alaska.edu
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/dragos-vas/

Katey Walter Anthony
(907) 474-6095
kmwalteranthony@alaska.edu
Research Areas: aquatic ecology and carbon and nutrient cycling between terrestrial and aquatic systems, the cryosphere and atmosphere.
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/katey-walter-anthony/

Matthew Wooller, Director, Alaska Stable Isotope Facility
(907) 474-6738
mjwooller@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Mass Spectrometry
http://www.sfos.uaf.edu/directory/faculty/wooller/

Kenji Yoshikawa
(907) 474-6090
kyoshikawa@alaska.edu
Research Areas: Permafrost Hydrology and Chronology, Periglacial, Geomorphology
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/kenji-yoshikawa/

Emily Youcha
(907) 474-2713
ekyoucha@alaska.edu

Students


Tereza Bendlova
tbendlova@alaska.edu

Katrina Bennett
(907) 474-1939
kebennett@alaska.edu

Erica Betts
(907) 474-2758
edbetts@alaska.edu

Sean Brennan
srbrennan@alaska.edu

Abhijit Chatterjee
achatterjee@alaska.edu

Louise Farquharson
lmfarquharson@alaska.edu
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/louise-farquharson/

Ben Gaglioti
bvgaglioti@alaska.edu

Joel Homan
jwhoman@alaska.edu

Eunkyoung Hong
eunkyoung.hong@gmail.com

Chas Jones
cejonesjr@alaska.edu

Erica Lamb
elamb3@alaska.edu

Ipshita Majhi
ipmajhi@alaska.edu

John Mumm
(907) 474-5396
jpmumm@gmail.com

Edda Mutter
eamutter@alaska.edu

Eloh Njikam
ennjikam@alaska.edu

Laura Oxtoby
laura.oxtoby@gmail.com
http://ine.uaf.edu/werc/people/laura-oxtoby/

Andy Padilla
ajpadilla@alaska.edu

Nathan Stephan
njstephan@alaska.edu

Erin Strang

Molly Tedesche

Erin Trochim
edtrochim@alaska.edu

Shiway Wang
swwang@alaska.edu